GVSA AGM meeting minutes - March 20, 2010 @ Monsma Marketing

Meeting called to order at 12:05 by John Hall, president.

Roll call was taken by Dave Whitehouse, league administrator, and a quorum was established with the following clubs represented:

Cadillac, West Michigan Fire, GR Crew Juniors, Kentwood, LASSO, Muskegon Lakers, PASS, Rangers SC, SCOR, Tri Cities, USA. (Flying Kick and Patriots came after roll was taken.)

Dave presented his administrator's report citing our cash balance of \$50,964.60 and noting that GVSA has increased 24 teams over last year now registering 399 teams. GVSA also sponsors 22 teams into the Premier league (MSPSP) for 2009/10. Seven new clubs have entered GVSA while two have dropped out.

Changes instituted this year included raising referee fees (fall 2009), using ARs in U10 and younger games, formation of the Grand Valley Soccer Officials Association (GVSOA), having GVSA approve referee assignors, formation of a coach's council, and improved use of technology via on line game reporting and risk management certification on pass cards.

Dave mentioned further use of GotSoccer by the MSYSA which will force us all to use that software.

John Hall presented his president's report detailing our growth into becoming the second largest league in Michigan. He also drew attention to the coach's council and GVSOA. It is our hope that these initiatives will result in better soccer in West Michigan by improving our referees and using input from DOC's to bring to light items that we as a board can work on.

Dave presented proposed by law revisions that would expand the board from 7 to 9 (8 elected and one GVSOA representative), increase the term of office to 2 years, and make the elections for specific positions rather than "at large". A provision was also added making this year's term of VP, Treasurer, Registrar, and one at large member be for one year so as to stagger the number of members up for election each year.

A motion to accept these changes was made, seconded, and passed unanimously.

Elections were held with the full slate of 8 candidates being elected by acclimation. Board members starting terms in 2010 are:

John Hall, president
Ken Lovell, vice president
Steve Manett, secretary
Mark VanSlooten, treasurer
Dennis Yunke, registrar
Bjorn Hansen, at large
Erwin vanElst, at large
Josh Sheldon, at large

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00.

Submitted, Steve Manett, secretary